The Claude Mono Blog


red castle – castle of dreams
November 2, 2010, 2:10 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

I was thinking about the Red Castle over the weekend with Halloween and was wondering if it was still there? –  so I took a spin and oh my god it is still there – now in full abandoned glory. Unbelievable for Perth I know – it has been due for the bulldozer for ages now. So with a few snaps of my own I trawled the web to find some others and have collated some of them here to create for you this atmospheric trip down memory lane….

…But wait there is more… the Function Room looks like it could still ‘function’ (check out the shot through the window and the Knight in armour) – so I am making some enquiries… lets get King Arthur’s revolving resturaunt revolving again – anyone want to host a party with me? – THE party!!

Massive respect for the photos I found that I have included but actually belong to others…

Thanks – The Lazy Aussie – The Red Castle occassionally gets a mention on the Worst of Perth
Thanks – Bendog – ‘Photographer to the Stars’ (see Flickr) and a friend who actually took photos at a party a few years ago – I wish I had been there!!!
Thanks – Penny Lane for the incredible crumbling castle model shoot – check it out
Thanks – Matt Banks and iKacy -both who took really nice external shots and have great streams on Flickr
and there is still a Red Castle website with a tasteful exterior shot – see if you can book in?

7 Comments

I love those interiors. Having a function? I’ll come.

Comment by The Lazy Aussie

I managed Red Castle 1971-1973. It was THE place.I was 23years old and “champagne charlie”.I had many bright ideas which doubled the turnover in 14 months. The restaurant offered table cooking and flambe… I can still see the delight of patrons eating those crepe suzettes. I have an old menu somewhere .. and a wine list. Did regular radio advertising based on the “revolting restaurant” with weekly phone in with chatty type sad.
1965 Seaview Cabernet was the go…. with the Granges of course. Many top race people stayed over the cup carnival, including Cummings…. our office girls had a ball. Old timers might remember jockey Frank Treen … he drank cognac and coke served in a brandy balloon.

Comment by Rodney Tregerthan

[…] when it was the place to be, kindly sent me the drinks menu from 1973 after I saw his comment on The Claude Mono blog. Some highlights are Swan lager, glass, cans, large bottles. Click for larger. And I’m […]

Pingback by Wine list Red Castle | The Worst of Perth

wow – great photos that evoke fun memories of both working there in the 1990’s (where are Steve and Chris Swansson-Barrett now?) and from the 1970’s when i stayed there as a kid!

Comment by Alison Weller

i want to know what happened to this place? why did it suddenly close down? they should re furbish the place and turn it back into a thriving restaurant instead of the junkie syringe littered place it is now :/

Comment by roger

Hi Rod!!

I’m Grant Carlson and worked there in the mid 70’s with you, Franco, etc. Hope this finds you and that all is well. I recall your daughter was named Sally, Hope she is happy and well also.

Cheers, and all the best!

Grant

Comment by Grant Carlson

what a very small world
i live in Wellington, NZ
Sally in Perth
catch up on Facebook
cheers
rodney

Comment by Rodney Tregerthan




Comments are closed.



